Helplanka UK  was founded in December 2004 and was registered as a charity in the UK in  March 2005.The UK Registration number is 1110306  Help Lanka’s original objective was to assist children affected by the tsunami of 2004 but now aims to meet the longer term needs of all children who may suffer financial, educational and social hardship regardless of race, religion or creed.

Helplanka is a small , focused charity working with contacts and charities such as the UK Sri Lanka Trauma Group, and others to fund real time , real need efforts for children in need 


We aim to provide practical, culturally fitting, long term assistance to enable children to Help them to Help Themselves to have a better future. We are different in that we are only children focused and provide feedback by project to all donors. Helplanka obtains its funding solely through voluntary donations from UK schools, individuals and companies and its Trustees provide support and their time on a voluntary basis without remuneration. Sri Lankan expatriates in the UK also assist the charity as trustees and donors.   

"Pure love is a willingness to give without a thought of receiving anything in return ..." 

 Peace Pilgrims   


 Helplanka  was founded by 6 Sri Lankans living in the UK immediately after the Tsunami of 2004. Currently our Patrons include :  Her Excellency Mrs Amari Wijewardene High Commissioner for Sri Lanka in the UK ,Tom Brake MP and David Swallow OBE with Sam Goonetillake as our Chief Executive and Directors Leslie Karunaratne and Inoka Sirimanna .  

You can see Helplanka's accounts and registration details by visiting

"Charity is the soul of faith, it gives life - without love faith dies..." 

St Anthony of Padua


A big Thank you to all those who supported, volunteered, hosted or provided help to Helplanka over the years .

 Thankyou ! Isthoothi !  Nandri ! Shukran ! 

  • Tom Brake MP our Patron
  • David Swallow OBE our Patron and ex Headmaster of Barry Comprehensive School Wales
  • Barclays
  • BT
  • Stephen Hammond MP
  • Lyndsay Davies nee Allen 
  • Dr Rajitha Senaratne MP 
  • National Child Protection Authority Sri Lanka
  • Geoffrey Dobbs
  • UK Sri Lanka Trauma Group
  • St Helier Hospital Carshalton
  • Child Development Centre Ragama
  • Seaton Cheshire Home Katana Negombo
  • Chandima Weerakody MP 
  • Rt Hon Ranil Wickremasinghe MP Prime Minister of Sri Lanka
  • The National Cancer Hospital Maharagama 
  • SERVE Moratuwa
  • Mrs Rosy Senanayake MP
  • ODEL Ltd
  • Mackwoods
  • British High Commission Colombo
  • MD Gunasena Bookshop
  • Dr Bandu Ranasinghe IDM
  • Keith Hall London
  • Mrs Susima Peiris Moratuwa
  • Sri Lanka High Commission London
  • Simon & Associates Lawyers Colombo 
  • Alun Cairns MP
  • One Creations London 
  • CEC Ltd London
  • Githal Madawela 3 Eye Travel London
  • Sri Lankan Airlines
  • Krishan Perera Oman Air 
  • British Council Colombo 
  • Azmi Thassim
  • Aruna Shantha Nonis
  • Leslie Karunaratne Helplanka Director ( Sri Lanka )
  • Fr Piyal Jayatilake 
  • Niroshan Perera
  • Joseph Family London 
  • Barry Comprehensive School Barry Wales
  • Priyalal Silva
  • Owen Brothers Catering London
  • Sister Charmaine Mendis Ragama
  • Mrs Gladys Weerasinghe Negombo
  • Sabina and Michael Deutrom London
  • Anne Moore 
  • Gerard McNally London
  • Florence Goonetillake JaEla 
  • Justine Bonner Glastonbury
  • Collom Family London
  • Mike Till Sutton 
  • Helene Gevers London
  • Edward Perera Ja Ela
  • Sheona Dellafort 
  • Abeywardene Family Colombo
  • Holly Shellard
  • Maud Swanborough 
  • Surein Peiris 
  • Dream Catcher Events Sri Lanka
  • Alice Stevens
  • Keren McNally
  • Dhani Menny
  • Shamina Shivacumaran
  •  Virgin Bank
  • Roshni Jeffery
  • Shirinne Hewitt
  • Newslanka 
  • Philip Hoare
  • Bandula Manage 
  • Bishop Valence Mendis Chilaw 
  • Jana Manuelpillai
  • Cusano Family Carshalton 
  • Albert Freeman Bradford 
  • Julie Lander
  • John Burden
  • Rob Bourton
  • Bathiya Dissanayake
  • Santhush Weeraman
  • Nilufer Joseph
  • Janak Ranasinghe
  • Guy Swallow
  • SRI Project Hambantota 
  • Maria Linsey
  • Presantha Dassanayake 
  • Lahiru Mudalige 
  • Muditha Wijesundera
  • Sesatha 
  • Vicci Rowe Educational Advisor
  • Iraj Weeraratne 
  • Jeevan Kumaratunga MP
  • Reggie Fernando Newslanka Colombo
  • Vincent Cable MP
  • Gerard Weber Negombo
  • Sajith Premadasa MP
  • Sydney Perera Nattandiya
  • Mrs Kumari Kulatunga Matara 
  • Dr Paltha Kohona